Early Cuddles: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

14 July, 2014 Reviews 0 comments

Early Cuddles: Falling into Place by Amy Zhang

I received this book for free from Book Expo America in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Early Cuddles: Falling into Place by Amy ZhangFalling into Place by Amy Zhang
Series: Standalone
Published by Greenwillow Books on September 9th 2014
Pages: 304
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Format: ARC
Source: Book Expo America
Amazon Good BooksBook Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

Reasons to read:

1. An unlikable main character

Hear me out. Liz is cruel, broken, and just plain toxic to those around her. The beauty about this book is that we get to experience her development. The different stages of her life–from childhood to the day she decides to end her life–are presented beautifully. While you might hate her decision, you also grow to understand them. Isn’t that awesome? Zhang created a very interesting and complex character and I love her for it.

2. The feels

As you can probably tell by the summary, this novel is an emotional sucker-punch to the heart. There’s something about it that makes it feel very personal. Reading about someone who is spiraling out of control is never easy.  I didn’t get emotional but I did feel like I had a sock down my throat. I wanted to change the outcome somehow but all I could do was read and enjoy the ride.

3. The writing

This novel had me from the very first sentence. The tone of the book is very dark, but the story itself is gripping and poignant. Amy Zhang (a high school student!) crafted an emotional journey about self-destruction and second chances.

Reasons to pass:

If you’re sensitive to suicide/depressing stories, you might want to skip this one. While I enjoyed it immensely, it can be a little slow at times and the end feels a little rushed. Other than that, I think all of you should keep the release date of this beautiful novel in mind!

Paola Carolina

Paola Carolina

Reviewer at Cuddlebuggery
Anglophile, bookworm, and occasional fangirl. Find me on Goodreads.
Paola Carolina
Review: The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer https://t.co/TROs8A3p02 on @bloglovin - 2 weeks ago

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge