Review: Shadows by Paula Weston

4 October, 2013 Reviews 3 comments

Review: Shadows by Paula WestonShadows by Paula Weston
Published by Tundra Books on July 2nd 2012
Pages: 388
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: eARC
Source: ARC Tour
Amazon Good BooksBook Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

It’s almost a year since Gaby Winters was in the car crash that killed her twin brother, Jude. Her body has healed in the sunshine of Pandanus Beach, but her grief is raw and constant. It doesn’t help that every night in her dreams she kills demons and other hell-spawn.

And then Rafa comes to town. Not only does he look exactly like the guy who’s been appearing in Gaby’s dreams—he claims a history with her brother that makes no sense. Gaby is forced to accept that what she thought she knew about herself and her life is only a shadow of the truth—and that the truth is more likely to be found in the shadows of her nightmares.

Who is Rafa? Who are the Rephaim? And most importantly, who can she trust?

Fast-paced and gripping, Shadows, the first book in the Rephaim series, is a standout paranormal romance for fans of Richelle Mead and Cassandra Clare.

Shadows is the kind of thing that’s just up my alley.  A kick ass protagonist, nephilim, enough sexual tension to cut the cheese.  Wait, I think I’m getting my sayings mixed up…

At one point I shook my iPad and was all, “Do you or do you not have memory issues?!”  then I yelled, “You’re not my supervisor!” over and over again because it just felt right.

I know amnesia is complicated and how much memory is lost works on a case by case basis and all that jazz, but Rafa was dropping tantalizing hints and making vague statements all over the place.  Yet Gaby is so frustratingly incurious. I mean, his hints were pretty obvious, but most of the time she brushed them off as if every guy tries to pick up girls by implying things about the girl’s life and personality that clearly aren’t remembered.  Last guy trying to pick me up was totally like, “Hey, when are you going to do that thing you do with the tiger and the mayonnaise?” and I was all like, “I have no idea what this means, but he’s hot so… splooge.”

Here is one of many examples I could have picked from:

“You’re really going to keep this up?” he asks when I sit back down.

I have no idea what he’s getting at, and when I don’t answer, he leans in closer.

“What about if I do this?” He runs his fingers thought my hair, not quite far enough to discover the scar at the nape of my neck.  It feels good.  So good, I sigh.

Look, if a stranger is making vague insinuations that he knows something about you that you don’t know, due to the amnesia you are suffering from, then don’t get distracted by your goddamn flaming ugly bumpers!  Who does that?!

This is one of my only gripes about the novel.  If this frustrating exposition had been shorter and less annoying, then this novel would have gotten more stars for sure.  I’d probably be running around giving all the stars!  Especially since there’s all that intense sexual tension.  Everyone, you all know how much I love good sexual tension, right?  Of course you do.

In addition, this book had lots of violence and monsters.  Y’all also know how much I love violence and monsters, right?  Of course you do.  Well, this book is basically one big barrage of violence, monsters and sexual tension.  Giving it out like satanic commune.  Actually, they’ll give regular communion out to just anyone too.  I checked once.  It burned as it went down.  Add in the mystery and the world building, and you have a novel worth at least checking out.

It’s not the best Young Adult PNR I’ve ever read, but it’s still pretty good. So there you have it, three begrudgingly given stars.  What more could you ask for?

Kat Kennedy

Kat Kennedy

Co-blogger at Cuddlebuggery
Kat Kennedy is a book reviewer and aspiring author in the Young Adult genre. She reviews critically but humorously and get super excited about great books. Find her on GoodReads.
Kat Kennedy
Taking a Twitter break for self care. But, guys, anybody distressed by what happened - please feel free to reach out for hugs. - 6 hours ago
Kat Kennedy
Kat Kennedy

Latest posts by Kat Kennedy (see all)


3 Responses to “Review: Shadows by Paula Weston”

  1. Kristen@My Friends Are Fiction
    Twitter:

    You know…now that you mention it why wasn’t she more curious!? I was so wrapped up in the story I didn’t notice but that’s a great point. I am eager to read angel books (I know I’m one of the odd people who are) Angelfall being my favorite. This one was done very well, for the most part. I loved the fighting scenes and think Haze is going to be fab. Great review!

    My Friends Are Fiction
    Kristen@My Friends Are Fiction recently posted…Event Recap- Austin Teen Book Festival 2013My Profile

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge