Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen

Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Pages: 348 (Paperback)
Series: Nightwatchers #1

Rating: ★☆☆☆☆ 

Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers, #1)

I don’t do dangerous.  Smart, über-careful, ordinary Samantha-that’s me. But I just couldn’t pass up a surprise kiss from my number-one unattainable crush. A kiss that did something to me…something strange. Now I feel hungry all the time, but not for food. It’s like part of me is missing-and I don’t know if I can get it back.

Then there’s Bishop. At first I thought he was just a street kid, but the secrets he’s keeping are as intense as his unearthly blue eyes. If he’s what I think he is, he may be the only one who can help me. But something terrifying is closing in, and the one chance Bishop and I have to stop it means losing everything I ever wanted and embracing the darkness inside me…

This is a DNF review.  Which means everything should be taken with a grain of salt.  However, Harlequin Teen was kind enough to provide this ARC to me and I felt I should at least take the time to explain why I couldn’t make it all the way through.

It had something to do with this:

The writing made me go:

 

The Characters were like:

 And I had to stop before I was driven to:

Maybe I should have kept up with it, because most people seem to really enjoy this book.  But I found the writing extremely telling.  The main character, Samantha tells us a lot about herself in a very awkward manner rather than showing us who she is.  Thus I had very little invested in either her or Bishop.  Since I didn’t connect to her, I found it hard to connect to the world and to, in turn, stay interested in the novel.

It was like one of those avalanches started by a single stone.  I don’t want to hear that you were acting out because of your parent’s divorce so you tried shoplifting and, since that didn’t work, making out with your crush was another option.  It was very disingenuous to me as a character voice and I couldn’t relate to how she expressed herself.  Sure, the back story is there but the emotion is not.  The frustration, the sense of helplessness and impotence, the uncontrollable urge to lash out – all of this was missing and replaced with a fairly lucid, detached personality reflecting on her state of being with all the emotional investment that I usually give to my breakfast cereal.

I would suggest this book for fans of City of Bones or Twilight – but I would also suggest reading the first chapter and half and deciding whether you bond with the protagonist and the writing style before purchasing.

 

Kat Kennedy

Kat Kennedy

Co-blogger at Cuddlebuggery
Kat Kennedy is a book reviewer and aspiring author in the Young Adult genre. She reviews critically but humorously and get super excited about great books. Find her on GoodReads.
Kat Kennedy
Australia entered a dystopian nightmare with its new legislation. - 4 hours ago
Kat Kennedy


10 Responses to “ARC Book Review: Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen”

  1. Yup..I think I have the same facial expression as Judge Judy when reading this book..
    Primrose recently posted…Review: The Shapeshifter’s SecretMy Profile

  2. Gosh, I don’t even think I have this book on my to-read list, but I am tempted to download a sample to really see how bad this is. How far did you make it, Kat? Books like this are not usually for me anyway.
    Kara @ Great Imaginations recently posted…Book Review and Giveaway of The Unfinished Work of Elizabeth D. by Nichole BernierMy Profile

  3. See, I had this discussion on Goodreads yesterday, about reviewing and rating books that weren’t finished, and I think it is actually great to read DNF reviews. I am not sure this book is for me, but you did pique my interest, and I might actually check it out anyway. And if you hadn’t written a review at all, I wouldn’t have heard anything about this book.
    Lexxie recently posted…Bitterblue (Graceling Realm #3) – Kristin CashoreMy Profile

  4. I hate when that happens! Totally love the Devil Wears Prada gif. I’ve done both that and the Judge Judy with books.
    Mary @ Book Swarm recently posted…Speed Date with Griffin: THE TAKEN by Vicki PetterssonMy Profile

  5. I would have to disagree on the grain of salt point–I think this review carries as much worth as your review of a novel you finished. Your reasons for disliking/not finishing this book are just as important as someone else’s reasons for loving it. A distant protagonist and lack of emotion are totally valid reasons for disliking something. :D
    Lexie B. recently posted…Born WickedMy Profile

  6. Wow, yeah I’ve heard a LOT of negative press for this book. Honestly, just reading the back cover made me cringe. No no no. Thank you for the very evocative gif-laden review! It got right to the point!
    AnimeJune recently posted…The Importance of Being NiceMy Profile

  7. Hahah, I sort of expected this result when I saw you were reading this. I haven’t read it, but it did not sound like my cup of cocoa.

    Great GIFs as always!
    Christina (A Reader of Fictions) recently posted…Clever Girls Like Clever Boys Much More Than Clever Boys Like Clever Girls – Pelle CarlbergMy Profile

  8. I have Dark Kiss on my wishlist but I think I need to re-think it and perhaps remove it(or at least push it to the end of the list). Great DNF review, Kat!
    Mari – Escape In A Book recently posted…WANTED: Partner in crime!My Profile

  9. I’ve just got this and i think i’ll enjoy it. By this review i can hint (which is a lot) that you didn’t like it. While i’m reading i am definitely remembering this review. Great review! =D
    Sangita recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday (21): Mind GamesMy Profile

  10. Masterful use of gifs as always

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

Current Giveaways

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,279 other subscribers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Advertisements