5 More Debuts to Look Forward To

21 August, 2015 Random 6 comments

So I have five more debuts for you. Most of them are going to be published in 2016 and I’m kind of in love with the premise of all of them. There’s fantasy, contemporary, magical realism, mythology. All that good stuff to chow down on. So, need to pad out that TBR? Or maybe you don’t but you can’t help adding a promising book? Well, I’ve got some here for you now!

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn HamiltonRebel of the Sands

To Be Published: March 8th 2016

Publisher: Penguin

Add to Goodreads

She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

The Star Crossed Queen by Roshani Chokshi

To Be Published: 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Add to Goodreads

Eileen Rothschild at St. Martin’s Griffin has bought The Bride of Dusk and Glass by Roshani Chokshi, pitched as a Hades and Persephone-style romance infused with Indian mythology, about an unlikely princess who must overcome her sinister horoscope and embarks on a quest to unravel her true identity and find the one she loves.

Publication is slated for spring/summer 2016; Thao Le at the Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency negotiated the two-book deal for North American rights.

All We Left BehindAll We Left Behind by Ingrid Sundberg

To be Published: December 1st 2015

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Add to Goodreads

For fans of Simone Elkeles and Courtney Summers, this haunting debut novel is about two teenagers battling their inner demons as they fall in love for the first time.

When Marion Taylor, the shy bookworm, meets sexy soccer captain Kurt Medford at a party, what seems like a sure thing quickly turns into a total mess. One moment they’re alone in the middle of a lake, igniting sparks of electricity. The next, they’re on dry land, pretending they’ve never met. But rather than the end, that night is the beginning of something real, terrifying, and completely unforgettable for them both.

As Marion and Kurt struggle to build a relationship from the fractured pieces of their pasts, every kiss they share uncovers memories both would rather keep buried. Marion desperately wants to trust Kurt and share the one secret she’s never told anyone—but some truths aren’t meant to be spoken out loud. Kurt is also still haunted by his mother’s death, by the people he hurt, and by the mistakes he can never take back.

Explosive together and hollow apart, Marion and Kurt seem totally wrong for each other—but could they turn out to be more right than they ever thought possible?

DreamologyDreamology by Lucy Keating

To Be Published: April 12th 2016

Publisher: Harper Teen

Add to Goodreads

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

Whimsical, romantic and utterly original, Lucy Keating’s debut novel will win readers’ hearts.

Last Mud Season by Kenneth Logan

To be Published: 2016

Publisher: Harper Children’s

Add to Goodreads

About a seventeen-year-old boy who meets and falls for his first boyfriend; as their relationship deepens, he must decide whether to stay in the closet and remain quiet, safe and sad, or find the courage to admit who he truly is to his rural hometown and to himself.

Kat Kennedy

Kat Kennedy

Co-blogger at Cuddlebuggery
Kat Kennedy is a book reviewer and aspiring author in the Young Adult genre. She reviews critically but humorously and get super excited about great books. Find her on GoodReads.
Kat Kennedy
RT @TUSK81: Just for you, #AllLivesMatter crowd. https://t.co/SR3oy23RVb - 2 hours ago
Kat Kennedy
Kat Kennedy

Latest posts by Kat Kennedy (see all)


6 Responses to “5 More Debuts to Look Forward To”

  1. Brigid
    Twitter:

    The Star Crossed Queen: Oh Man, this looks really intriguing. Great pick, Kat.

    All we left behind: This looks so good! But I hope that if her secret is rape that she doesn’t hide it from the reader because…..that could create some serious issues I have with books that use if for skeevy purposes.

    Dreamology: This looks really interesting. It’s especially interesting because what we desire for our life sometimes turns out to be completely different but all the better because it’s not what we imagined. This book looks like my catnip.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge