• Fantasy
  • Contemp
  • Dystopian
  • Horror
  • ParaRomance
  • SciFi
Siege and Storm

I always go into a second book in a series with fears that it will have the dreaded “Second Book Syndrome”. I worry that the characters will regress, the plot will stall and surmount to overall ridiculousness, and in the end, become boring and lathered in disappointment. So even though The Grisha series is a new favorite for me, I still had these concerns. You cannot even imagine my glee when I discovered Siege and Storm did NOT suffer from any of these things. On the contrary, it was even better than its predecessor. If you loved Shadow and Bone, be prepared to be blown away!

There are so many things I want mention and squeal about in this review, but OH THE SPOILERS. And anyway, Kat did such a great job with reviewing in code already. So I’ve decided to just write letters.

 

Dear Darkling,

You’re so evil, but I can’t seem to conjure up any feelings of dislike for you.

BWN

Buzz Worthy News

This week in Buzz Worthy News: The new Chamber of Secrets cover is revealed, Maureen Johnson and Jezebel clash over YA heroines, the author of The Jungle Book a plagiarist?!, and the SFWA controversy rounds out our week.  All this and more so come check it out!

Buzz Worthy News is Cuddlebuggery’s weekly news post bringing you all the best information about the book and blogging world, particularly for the venn diagram of people who overlap between the two.  For new releases and cover reveals of all the best Young Adult fiction, check out our Sunday post: How New Titles.


Books


New Chamber of Secrets cover revealed

Well, as promised, the new cover for the second Harry Potter book is out.  Thoughts?  I like it a lot better than the old one, AND the new one for Philosopher’s Stone.

It is, of course, from the iconic scene where the Weasley brothers kidnap Harry from his own house and take him to a wizarding sweatshop where they intend to work him for money until he dies. 

spirit+tour+button

Character Interview With Nick

1. How can I be sure you’re Nick and not Gabriel? Since you two are twins, I hear you love to switch places now and again.

Heh. We switch places all the time. I think you’re going to have to take your chances and hope for the best. *wicked smile*

2. Have you always been the cool, calm and collected one out of your brothers?

Yeah. One of us has to be. *pauses, losing the smile* Right after our parents died, Seth and Tyler broke in and trashed our house. Michael called the cops. Gabriel went looking for Seth and Tyler. Chris holed up in his room to cry. *shrug* I cleaned up the mess.

3. In your novella, Breathless, we get to experience a new side of you. It will, no doubt, leave some ladies in a brief state of disbelief. But were you shocked at Quinn’s reaction?

Shades of Grey

Oh, look!  Another book involving shades of grey!  Unlike the last one, however, this one doesn’t spit upon the face of literature.  I apologize for the length of that above summary, but, in all honesty, I believe that it’s warranted.  And not just because it saves me the trouble of trying to explain this book, which is a task that I don’t think that I’m capable of tackling in any reasonably succinct way.

Shades of Grey is really, truly, unabashedly odd.  I’d ignore the genre tags if I were you, as they really aren’t accurate.  I just had no idea how to classify this one.  It’s one of those stories that is very hard to describe in only a few sentences, with a basic premise that raises so many questions that you’re sort of forced to provide more details to potential readers so as not to leave them completely bewildered.

Notice how I said “completely bewildered.”  Be prepared to get cozy with the second word in that phrase, because it’s going to describe you accurately throughout the bulk of this tale. 

Star Cursed

We have a special giveaway for our readers today! Our friends at PenguinTeen are offering a prize pack for the first two books in The Cahill Witch Chronicles by Jessica Spotswood. This is a series that I’m personally very excited to read soon!

Giveaway

One lucky winner will receive a paperback copy of Born Wicked and an ARC of Star Cursed. US only!

Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles #1)

Goodreads
A gorgeous, witchy, romantic fantasy by a debut author! Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and the Beautiful Creatures series!
Everybody thinks Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they’re witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship–or an early grave. Then Cate finds her mother’s diary, and uncovers a secret that could spell her family’s destruction.

Page 66 of 180« First...102030...6465666768...8090100...Last »


#ISLAisComing Readalong!

Current Giveaways

Check back soon!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,276 other subscribers

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Advertisements